This is your subject guide for the course, History and Theology of the Roman Catholic Church, a study of the history and theology of the Roman Catholic Church from its earliest beginnings between the fourth and sixth centuries to its post Vatican II developments, with particular emphasis on the rise, development, and progress of the papacy. Appropriate consideration is given to the main dogmas of the Church, and to the world strategy of the papacy and its prophetic significance.

Click the links for more information.

1. ATLA Religion Database / ATLA Serials *
2. Proquest Dissertations *
3. Proquest Religion *
4. JSTOR Journal Archive *
5. Directory of Open Access Journals
6. Electronic Journals Library
7. Google Scholar
8. Global Digital Theological Library *

*Needs password

1. Albanian Catholic Bulletin
2. American Catholic Philosophical Quarterly
3. American Catholic Sociological Review
4. American Catholic Studies
5. American Catholic Studies Newsletter
6. Australasian Catholic Record, The
7. British Catholic History
8. Bulletin Of The National Guild Of Catholic Psychiatrists, Inc, The
9. Canadian Catholic Historical Studies
10. Canadian Catholic Review, The
11. Catholic Biblical Quarterly, The
12. Catholic Charismatic
13. Catholic Digest
14. Catholic Historical Review, The
15. Catholic International
16. Catholic Lawyer, The
17. Catholic Library World, The
18. Catholic Mind, The
19. Catholic Parent
20. Catholic Social Science Review
21. Catholic Update
22. Catholic Worker, The
23. Catholic World, The 
24. International Studies In Catholic Education
25. Journal Of The Australian Catholic Historical Society
26. Journal Of Catholic Education
27. Journal Of The Black Catholic Theological Symposium, The
28. Journal Of Catholic Legal Studies
29. Journal Of Catholic Social Thought
30. National Catholic Bioethics Quarterly, The
31. National Catholic Register
32. National Catholic Reporter
33. New Catholic World
34. Newsletter (Catholic Church. United States Conference Of Catholic Bishops. Committee On Divine Worship)
35. Proceedings Of The American Catholic Philosophical Association
36. Proceedings Of The Annual Convention (Catholic Theological Society Of America)
37. Proceedings Of The Catholic Theological Society Of America
38. Records Of The American Catholic Historical Society Of Philadelphia
39. Today's Catholic Teacher
40. U.S. Catholic
41. U.S. Catholic Historian

• Apologetics​ This site contains weblinks to Catholic apologetics.

• "Catholic.net is the first Catholic website founded in 1995 by James Mulholland in response to the realities of church life emerged on the Internet. Its intention is to provide information to help Catholics form a Christ-like character, so that they can transform the culture with the Truth of the Gospel transmitted to us by Holy Mother Church, which is One,  Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church."

​ 

• Code of Canon Law
   The full text of the 1983 edition via IntraText.

 

•  EWTN Eternal Word Television Network (EWTN) contains shows and documents on religious education.                                                                                                                                    ​
•  THE HOLY SEE  (Official website of the Vatican) 

 
 

•  This website offers Catholic encyclopedia, Summa Theologiae, The Fathers of the Church, Bible in Greek, English and Lating text, church documents, blogs and Catholic web links.                                                                                                                         
• 

 

• ​The Roman Theological Forum"The Roman Theological Forum is an association of scholars working with other interested persons for the advancement of theology and philosophy within the tradition of the Roman Catholic Church. It addresses contemporary questions of theology and philosophy, beginning from a Thomist point of view, and it is promoting with special attention a neo-Patristic approach to the interpretation of Sacred Scripture."

 

• The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) is an assembly of the hierarchy of the United States and the U.S. Virgin Islands who jointly exercise certain pastoral functions on behalf of the Christian faithful of the United States. 

 

• Vatican Sites  (Contains links to Vatican websites)

​
​
 

• ​ The homepage of the Rome-based international news agency. 

1. Benedictines
2. Capuchins
3. Carmelites
4. Cistercians
5. Dominicans
6. Franciscans
7. Jesuits
8. Rosicrucians
9. Trappists

Credo Online Reference Service
Gumberg Library of Duquesne University
Mount St. Mary's Seminary and School of Theology 

 

     Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on History and Theology of the Roman Catholic Church.

• Catholic Church
• This may be subdivided geographically Catholic Church--Philippines
• Broad Term Christian sects
• Narrow Term Fascism and the Catholic Church
• Narrow Term Women in the Catholic Church
• Catholic Church--Cathechism
• Catholic Church--Doctrines
• Penance
• Catholic Church--History
• Papacy
• Vatican Council
• See Also subdivision Catholic Church under subjects, e.g. Asceticism—Catholic Church

Loading ...