Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: Biblical Studies

Welcome
Welcome to Biblical Studies Research Guide! Included here are best resources in Biblical Studies the library can offer you. The resources are either library-owned or library-given access. Others are free online materials. There are also some tutorials on how to use our resources; others are instructions regarding our library services. Feel free to contact the subject librarian for your suggestions and observations. 
Tutorials
Book Classification for Biblical Studies
Summary of Main Library of Congress (LC) Classes in
Biblical Studies


BM                               Judaism
BS                               The Bible
PA1-PA899                   Classical Philology
PJ                                Oriental Languages and Literatures

Call Numbers/Subject Areas Under Each Class
BM
BM480-488.8                          Pre-Talmudic Jewish literature
BM495-532                             Sources of Jewish religion
BM534-538                             Judaism to special subject fields
BM545-582                             Principles of Judaism (General)
BM585-585.4                          Controversial works against Jews
BM590-591                             Jewish works against Christianity&Islam
BM600-645                             Dogmatic Judaism
BM646                                    Heresy, heresies
BM648                                    Apologetics
BM650-747                             Practical Judaism
BM750-755                             Biography
BM900-990                             Samaritans
BS
BS11-115                                Early versions
BS125-355                              Modern texts and versions
BS410-680                              Works about the Bible
BS701-1830                            Old Testament
BS1901-2970                           New Testament
PA
PA1‑199                                 Classical philology
PA201‑899                              Greek philology and language
PJ
PJ3001-3097                           Semitic philology and literature
PJ3101-(3971)                        Assyriology.  Akkadian
PJ4001-(4091)                        Sumerian
PJ4101-4197                           West and North Semitic languages
PJ4501-5192                           Hebrew
PJ5201-5329.5                        Aramaic
PJ5401-5809                           Syriac
PJ5901-5909                           South Semitic languages
PJ6001-8517                           Arabic
Media Resources

Loading ...

Serials
Below are monograph series titles found in the library. Click the title and you will see the monograph issues available in the library.

Society of Biblical Literature Cambridge University Press Brown University Scholars Press for the American Academy of Religion Fortress Press Pickwick Publications Crossroad
Print Journals
The library maintains subscription to the following journals:
  • Biblical Interpretation
  • Bulletin for Biblical Research
  • Catholic Biblical Quarterly
  • Journal for the Study of the New Testament
  • Journal for the Study of the Old Testament
  • Journal of Biblical Literature
  • Journal of Near Eastern Studies
  • New Testament Studies
  • Vetus Testamentum
  • Zeitschrift Fur Die Nuetestamenteliche Wissenschraft
The journals are located at the second floor, east wing
Apps & Tools for Bible Scholars
Accordance Bible Software - started as a tool for in-depth analysis of Greek and Hebrew texts of the Bible that runs in Mac. It has now expanded to include other data sets such as Bible Atlas, commentaries and other Biblical text materials that run on Mac, Windows, iPad, & iPad for Bible study.

Note: The library has Accordance collection accessible on 5 computers at the IMRC and Computer Lab. 

BibleWorks -a Bible software program for Biblical exegesis and research. It comes with Greek, Hebrew, and Septuagint Bibles for your computer, as well as translations in English, German, Spanish, Chinese, Korean, and more!

Note: The library has BibleWorks Version 10 in the computers in the IMRC

Logos Bible Software - a multiplatform program designed to run on Windows, Mac, iPhone, iPad, and Android gadgets. Logos is a platform for quick searching of the Bible and other datasets such as ebooks, commentaries, biblical languages, and many others.

Best Commentaries - gives Bible scholars an information about the recently published commentaries available in the market. It is a commercial site that compares one commentary to the other. One could get an idea about each title but the best way to tell the quality is still to read the content of the commentary by yourself.
Subject Coordinator
Picture: Megumi  Flores

Megumi Flores
Biblical/Business
Tel: 63-46-414-

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog
Library Resources --New Testament
General Resources
Matthew Mark / Luke / John / Acts / Romans / 1 Corinthians
2 Corinthians / GalatiansEphesians / Philippians / Colossians /
1 Thessalonians2 Thessalonians / 1 Timothy2 Timothy 
Titus /  Philemon HebrewsJames /  1 Peter / 2 Peter /  
1 John / 2 John 3 John / Jude Revelation                                                            
Library Resources --Old Testament
General Resources       
Genesis /  ExodusLeviticusNumbersDeuteronomy
Joshua /  Judges /   Ruth  / 1 Samuel /  2 Samuel / 
1 Kings2 Kings1 Chronicles  / 2 ChroniclesEzra
Nehemiah /  Esther  Job /  Psalms Proverbs  /  
Ecclesiastes  / Song of Songs IsaiahJeremiah /  
Lamentations
Ezekiel /  DanielHoseaJoel 
Amos
ObadiahJonahMicah NahumHabakkuk /
Zephaniah  / Haggai  / ZechariahMalachi
Online Databases Subscription
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 

ATLA Religion /ATLA Serials Database
ATLA Religion Database is the premier index for religion and theology. It indexes, articles, book reviews, essays and multiauthor works back to 1949. ATLA Serials provides full text from 50+journals. 

JSTOR Journal Archives
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600. It does not include current journal issues. The Leslie Hardinge library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences III Collection and the Arts & Sciences Complement sections of JSTOR.

ProQuest Religion
Proquest Religion provides full text journals in the area of Religion. It contains approximately 100 religion journals. 

Religion Compass
A journal of peer-reviewed survey articles in African religions, Ancient near east, Buddhism, East Asian traditions, Christianity, Indian traditions, Islam, Judaism, new religions, religions in the Americas, political religions, and Graeco-Roman religions. 
Ebooks
E-book EBSCO
This is an e-book database provided by EBSCOhost where you can search and view the full text of the purchased titles. 
World Catalog
Find bibliographic records of books and ebooks from 10,000 libraries worldwide. Use advanced search and then, choose ebook for format.
Hathi Trust
A shared digital repository owned and operated by a partnership of more than forty major libraries in US. The collection comprises over 10 million volumes, over 2.7 million of which are for public access.
Directory of Open Access Books
Academic publishers share the metadata of their open access books in this database and make it harvestable to maximize dissemination, visibility, and impact.
Internet Archive
A non-profit digital library with the stated mission of "universal access to all knowledge". It offers permanent storage and access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and nearly 3 million public domain books.
Google Books
A service from Google Inc. searching the full text of books that Google has scanned and converted to text. Avail the full view or preview of the books.
The Online Book Page
This is a well organized listing of over 1 million free e-books on the web. The library is arranged according to the Library of Congress classification, but is searchable by specific topics. The full-text is accessible for most of the items
 
Free Online Sources
Dead Sea Scroll (DSS) Exhibit at Library of Congress
This is based on the exhibit of the Library of Congress which describes the historical context of the scrolls and the Qumran community from whence they may have originated
New Testament Gateway
A directory of academic internet resources on the New Testament, hosted by Logos Bible Software and edited by Mark Goodacre
Orion Center for Study of Dead Sea Scroll 
Content is maintained by Orion Center as part of the Institute for Jewish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.  
Resource Pages for Online Biblical Studies
The Resource Pages for Biblical Studies are compiled and owned by Torrey Seland, Professor emeritus and former Dean of Studies, School of Mission and Theology, Stavanger. Norway. The site is intended as a resource for serious, scholarly studies of the early Christian writings and their social world.
The Digital Dead Sea Scroll
The Israel Museum, in partnership with Google, put up a new website to give users an access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.
Eikon: Image Database for Biblical Studies
A faculty-library initiative at Yale Divinity School that provides digital resources for teaching and research in the field of Biblical studies.
Religious and Theological Abstracts
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.
Synoptic Gospel Primer
An electronic gateway for English speakers into the history of  literary analysis of gospels that were originally composed in Greek. It was created for undergraduate New Testament courses at Rutgers University.
Bible Commentaries Online
Part of Bible Study Tools.com which are written by well-known and popular theologians. It aids in the study of Scripture by providing explanation and interpretation of Biblical text.
Bible Gateway
A multilingual searchable Bible website making Scripture accessible in more than 70 languages and more than 180 versions.
 
Famous Biblical Studies Scholars
N. T.  Wright  (Nicholas Thomas) -

John Goldingay

Walter C. Kaiser Jr. 

 
Biblical Languages
Greek Language - Click to find resources in the Leslie Hardinge Library

Hebrew Language - Click to find resources in the Leslie Hardinge Library

Biblical Fonts -SBL fonts are made available without cost to individual scholars for non-profit use.
 
Course Syllabus
Syllabus  -a peer reviewed journal prepared by faculty who excel in teaching. It intends to publish original course syllabi, essays, and shorter “tool box” entries. All are subjected to blind peer review.
Annotated Bibliography
Biblical Studies on the Internet: a resource guide
by Roland H. Worth, Jr. 
Revised: Jul 17th 2017