Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: CHIS 563/663/863 History and Theology of the Roman Catholic Church

WELCOME !
This is your subject guide for the course, History and Theology of the Roman Catholic Church, a study of the history and theology of the Roman Catholic Church from its earliest beginnings between the fourth and sixth centuries to its postVatican II developments, with particular emphasis on the rise, development, and progress of the papacy. Appropriate consideration is given to the main dogmas of the Church, and to the world strategy of the papacy and its prophetic significance.

Click the links for more information.
Research Help--Theological-Historical Study
Related Websites
  • Apologetics​ This site contains weblinks to Catholic apologetics.

  • enter the Table of Contents of the Catechism of the Catholic Church hereFull text of the 1997 American edition Cathechism of the Catholic Church, plus search engine.
  • Catholic.netThis site provides access to leading Catholic magazines and newspapers, papal and Church documents, and devotional services, as well as weekly highlights from Catholic publications and web sites.

 
  • CatholiCity.com        This website contains cathechisms, articles by Fr. John McCloskey, the Catholic encyclopedia, Catholic church teachings, Catholic commentary, and hundreds of best Catholic web links.
   
  • EWTNEWTN's library of over 6,000 Catholic files is available to you through this search engine. 
 
  • Index THE HOLY SEE  (Official website of the Vatican) 
   
  • New Advent This website offers Catholic encyclopedia, Summa Theologiae, The Fathers of the Church, Bible in Greek, English and Latin text, Church documents, blogs, and Catholic web links.
  • Image result for Orthodox Church Fathers: Christian Theology Classics Search Engine
 
  • The Roman Theological Forum "The Roman Theological Forum is an association of scholars working with other interested persons for the advancement of theology and philosophy within the tradition of the Roman Catholic Church. It addresses contemporary questions of theology and philosophy, beginning from a Thomist point of view, and it is promoting with special attention a neo-Patristic approach to the interpretation of Sacred Scripture."
 
  • Image resultThe United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) is an assembly of the hierarchy of the United States and the U.S. Virgin Islands who jointly exercise certain pastoral functions on behalf of the Christian faithful of the United States. 
 
  • logoWebsites, syllabi, texts, journals, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software.

 
  • ZENIT – English The homepage of the Rome-based international news agency. 
Subject Coordinator
Picture: Dionisio Tuapin Jr

Dionisio Tuapin Jr
Bibliographic Services Librarian
Tel: 46 4144405

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog
Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings
     Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on History and Theology of the Roman Catholic Church.
Librarian's List

Loading ...

Revised: Nov 23rd 2017