Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: EDCI 610 Classroom Management

Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings
Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on Classroom Management

Classroom Management
Classroom Discipline
Classroom Environment
Teaching
Teacher-student relationships
Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog
New Books in Classroom Management

Loading ...

Education Online Databases
  • Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and  more than13,200 publications
‚Äč
  • JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.
 
 
  • Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.
 
  • Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
 
Dissertation Available at AIIAS Library

Loading ...

Online Theses & Dissertations
Burson, T. (2011). The effects of backward-designed curriculum and instruction on classroom management (Order No. 3479305). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I. (905778169). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/905778169?accountid=42729

Coleman, J. M. (2012). Classroom management: Whose responsibility is it?(Order No. 3530670). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I. (1112886557). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1112886557?accountid=42729

Fitzpatrick, C. (2011). Kindergarten classroom engagement skills: The road to academic success in elementary school (Order No. NR89016). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I; ProQuest Psychology Journals. (1147427660). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1147427660?accountid=42729

Frady, R. R. (2011). Music pedagogy: The dissonance between the taught, the learned, and the practiced (Order No. 3510495). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I. (1022181169). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1022181169?accountid=42729

Gornto, J. S. (2009). The impact of student leadership in classroom management on student achievement (Order No. 3376763). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I. (305175201). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/305175201?accountid=42729

Johnson, M. S. (2014). The efficacy of using enforceable statements as a high school classroom management technique (Order No. 3632214). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I. (1566655059). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1566655059?accountid=42729

Maini, R. D. S. (2011). Teacher training in a proactive approach to classroom behaviour management: Teacher and student outcomes (Order No. NR77713). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I; ProQuest Psychology Journals. (915643463). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/915643463?accountid=42729

Minuskin, S. (2009). Effects of professional development on the knowledge and classroom practices of elementary school science teachers (Order No. 3385691). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I. (305150536). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/305150536?accountid=42729

Noddings, A. T. (2012). How educators can use sensory integration techniques in the classroom to improve focus in young children: Perspectives from occupational therapists (Order No. 3516321). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I; ProQuest Psychology Journals. (1029456854). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1029456854?accountid=42729

Slater, E. D. (2011). Predicting teachers' awareness of and interventions in classroom episodes of gender-based bullying: Individual and systems factors (Order No. 3466758). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I. (885430442). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/885430442?accountid=42729

Todras, P. (2008). Teachers' perspectives of disruptive behavior in the classroom (Order No. 3347711). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I; ProQuest Psychology Journals. (304800175). Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/304800175?accountid=42729
 
Subject Coordinator
Picture: Hesell  Delfin

Hesell Delfin
Education
Tel: 46 414408

Online Journals
Australian Journal of Teacher Education - The purpose of this journal is to to enhance the quality of teacher education through the publication of research reports, learned points of view and commentaries.

Classroom Expernomics - is a journal dedicated to the use of economic experiments as a teaching tool in the classroom

Journal of Classroom Research in Literacy - is a journal on research conducted in K-12 classrooms. It's fpcus is literacy. 

New Horizons for Learning Journal - This is a journal by John Hopkins School of Education to help educators, researchers and other interested individuals in learning in a virtual roundtable.

Journal of Education for Teaching - It publishes original contributions on the subject of teacher education. JET publishes both qualitative and quantitative research, the presentation of empirical research, funded research projects and review articles 

European Journal of Teacher Education - It is the official journal of the Association for Teacher Education in Europe ( ATEE). This publication provides an opportunity for the dissemination of educational research which investigates theory, policy and practice in teacher education at pre-service and in-service levels predominantly in the countries of Europe.

The Classroom Teacher - is quarterly magazine of the Texas Classroom Teachers Association. It provides in-depth analysis of the issues that matter most to educators.

The Professional Educator - It is a nationally disseminated, peer-reviewed electronic journal published jointly by Auburn University’s Truman Pierce Institute and the College of Education. The Professional Educator focuses on current issues, research, and innovations related to educational partnerships.
Online Journal Articles
Englehart, J. M. (2012). Five Half-Truths about Classroom Management. Clearing House, 85(2), 70-73. doi:10.1080/00098655.2011.616919. Available from Academic Search Complete.

Guardino, C. A., & Fullerton, E. (2010). Changing Behaviors by Changing the Classroom Environment. Teaching Exceptional Children, 42(6), 8-13. Available from Academic Search Complete.

Lloyd, C., Bruce, S., & Mackintosh, K. (2012). Working on What Works: enhancing relationships in the classroom and improving teacher confidence. Educational Psychology In Practice, 28(3), 241-256. doi:10.1080/02667363.2012.684341.

Marsh, E., Butler, A., & Umanath, S. (2012). Using Fictional Sources in the Classroom: Applications from Cognitive Psychology. Educational Psychology Review, 24(3), 449-469. doi:10.1007/s10648-012-9204-0. Available from Academic Search Complete.

Roskos, K., & Neuman, S. B. (2012). Classroom Management For Achieving Readers. Reading Teacher, 65(5), 308-312. doi:10.1002/TRTR.01047. Available from Academic Search Complete.

Sayeski, K. L., & Brown, M. R. (2014). Developing a Classroom Management Plan Using a Tiered Approach. Teaching Exceptional Children, 47(2), 119-127. doi:10.1177/0040059914553208. Available from Academic Search Complete.

Tal, C. (2010). Case Studies to Deepen Understanding and Enhance Classroom Management Skills in Preschool Teacher Training. Early Childhood Education Journal, 38(2), 143-152. doi:10.1007/s10643-010-0395-z. Available from Academic Search Complete.
Useful Websites for Teachers
 Education World -  This site provides resources and lessons for teachers
Edutopia - This site provides resources, tools and solutions for teachers, administrators and parents to improve public schools.
Teaching Today - This site provides weekly tips, free downloads and articles for teachers.
Teachers Helping Teachers - This site is created by teachers for teachers. It provides resources on lesson planning, classroom management, special education and book reviews.
Tech Tools for Classroom Teachers
  • Edmodo - This is a social media site for Education. You can gather materials for your class, connect with other teachers, and organize groups of students for collaborative learning. 
  • ClassDojo - This is a free application that teachers can use for documenting their students' behavior.
Tutorials

How to Use Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC)

How to Search the Online Catalog

The Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC) helps the patrons locate library resources. OPAC shows the resource location, availability, and bibliographic information.

How to Renew Books Online

The Leslie Hardinge Library allows you to renew books online. This tutorial helps you to do it with the use of your AIIAS account. 

How to Place Hold Online

Resources you need might have been borrowed by other patrons. If you wish to be the next person to borrow those checked out items. This tutorial tells you how to do it.

 

How to Use Online Databases

How to Search EBSCO Databases

The library is subscribed to a number of EBSCO databases which includes Academic Search Complete, LISTA, ATLA Index, and ATLA Serials. This tutorial gives you a general background of finding articles using the EBSCO interface.

How to Search Proquest Databases

The library is subscribed to a number of ProQuest Databases which includes ABI/Inform Global, Religion, and Theses and Dissertations. This tutorial gives you a general background of finding articles using the ProQuest interface.

Revised: Aug 18th 2015