An overview of theories of first and second language acquisition, including comprehensible input, the monitor hypothesis, and order of acquisition. The role of linguistics in understanding language acquisition; the differences between learning and acquisition, EFL, ESL, and ESP, pedagogy and andragogy, integrative and instrumental motivation; and traditional and current approaches to language teaching including grammar/translation approaches, and communicative language teaching are discussed.
Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on Second Language Acquisition
Second Language Acquisition
Second language acquisition -- Social aspects
Second Language Acquisition
Second language acquisition -- Social aspects
- Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than13,200 publications
- JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.
- Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
- Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.
- Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Index to Christ in the Classroom - compilation of articles on Faith and Learning in the Classroom by SDA educators from around the world.
SLA applied : connecting theory and practice
Teaching language in context
Second language acquisition : an introductory course
Introducing second language acquisition : perspectives and practices
Learning strategy instruction in the language classroom : issues and implementation
The Production-comprehension interface in second language acquisition : an integrated encoding-decoding model
Second language learning theories
A Handbook of second language acquisition for biblical studies : insights of modern language instruction for teaching biblical languages
Introducing second language acquisition
Motherless tongues : the insurgency of language amid wars of translation
Teaching by principles : an interactive approach to language pedagogy
The Linguistics wars : Chomsky, Lakoff, and the battle over deep structure
Building upon the strengths of an English for academic purposes programme : an appreciative inquiry
Influencers of students' English language speaking proficiency of a selected private tertiary institution in West Indonesia
Amplifying the curriculum : designing quality learning opportunities for English learners
English as a lingua franca for EFL contexts
Doing reflective practice in English language teaching : 120 activities for effective classroom management, lesson planning, and professional development
The ESL/ELL teacher's survival guide : ready-to-use strategies, tools, and activities for teaching English language learners of all levels
The handbook of TESOL in K-12
Collaborating for English learners : a foundational guide to integrated practices
Language teacher education for global Englishes : a practical resource book
Learning English as a second language : a handbook for Elementary level in the United States of America
Second language pronunciation : bridging the gap between research and teaching
The Oxford handbook of cognitive linguistics
Teaching language in context
Second language acquisition : an introductory course
Introducing second language acquisition : perspectives and practices
Learning strategy instruction in the language classroom : issues and implementation
The Production-comprehension interface in second language acquisition : an integrated encoding-decoding model
Second language learning theories
A Handbook of second language acquisition for biblical studies : insights of modern language instruction for teaching biblical languages
Introducing second language acquisition
Motherless tongues : the insurgency of language amid wars of translation
Teaching by principles : an interactive approach to language pedagogy
The Linguistics wars : Chomsky, Lakoff, and the battle over deep structure
Building upon the strengths of an English for academic purposes programme : an appreciative inquiry
Influencers of students' English language speaking proficiency of a selected private tertiary institution in West Indonesia
Amplifying the curriculum : designing quality learning opportunities for English learners
English as a lingua franca for EFL contexts
Doing reflective practice in English language teaching : 120 activities for effective classroom management, lesson planning, and professional development
The ESL/ELL teacher's survival guide : ready-to-use strategies, tools, and activities for teaching English language learners of all levels
The handbook of TESOL in K-12
Collaborating for English learners : a foundational guide to integrated practices
Language teacher education for global Englishes : a practical resource book
Learning English as a second language : a handbook for Elementary level in the United States of America
Second language pronunciation : bridging the gap between research and teaching
The Oxford handbook of cognitive linguistics
How to Use Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC)
- How to Search the Online Catalog
- How to Renew Books Online
- How to Place Hold Online
- How to Find Academic Reserves
- How to Create and Save List
How to Access Ebooks
How to Use Online Databases
Other Databases
Finding Resources
Hesell Delfin
Education
Tel: 46 414408