Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: EDIT 662 Managing Technology in Schools (Hardware & Software)

Table of Contents

Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings

Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on Managing Technology in Schools (Hardware & Software)

Computers
Computer Networks
Computer Systems - Management
Information Technology
Software Maintenance

Course Description

This course provides basic knowledge and skills necessary to maintain software and hardware in an educational institution. Students will learn basic maintenance, including an introduction to networking and security; how to select, install, and update software, troubleshoot and upgrade hardware components; maintain and replace computer parts; and assemble and disassemble microcomputer systems. The course will also cover computer system management, and how to plan, and organize, and maintain the computer system in a school, identifying and anticipating educational needs and system failure, and providing proper solutions.

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog

Education Online Databases

Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than13,200 publications

JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.