Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: Finding Theses & Dissertations

Recommended Online Databases
AIIAS Theses and Dissertations 
AIIAS will soon share its theses, dissertations and DMin Projects to the general public. Watch out here! Your AIIAS email username and password is required. 

Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) 
With more than 2 million entries, PQDT is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Your AIIAS username and password are required to use this database.
 
Australia - National Library
ADT is a collection of theses produced by students of Australian universities. With the aim of providing access and promoting Australian research to international community, the theses are available worldwide through the Web.

DART - Europe E-theses Portal
Provides access to European research theses.

Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS)
EThOS of British Library is the central hub of all United Kingdom (UK) higher education institutions for their theses. With UK institutions support for Open Access, the database is free for researchers.

National ETD Portal - South Africa Theses and Dissertations
This search portal provides access to electronic theses and dissertations produced in South Africa.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.6 million theses and dissertations.

PhdData.Org
Provides an index of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world. The site has the purpose to: avoid duplications in doctoral dissertations, create the ultimate meeting place for researchers, and allow interaction between the researchers. Use of the index requires free registration..

Proquest (PQDT) Open Access
Free full text of dissertations and theses from different universities. The authors have opted to publish as open access. 

Theological Research Network (TREN)
The Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions. Full texts of researches are for purchase.

Research in Ministry (RIM)
Hosted by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), RIM Online is a free index database of DMin and DMiss projects from theological schools accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) in the United States and Canada.

Theses Canada
This is a comprehensive collection of theses and dissertations of Canadian universities.
 
Video Tutorials
Below are step-by-step video tutorials on how to find theses & dissertations in recommended online databases. Click on the online database name to open and view its tutorial.
  • AIIAS Theses and Dissertations
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT)
  • Australia - National Library
  • DART - Europe E-theses Portal
  • Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS)
  • National ETD Portal - South Africa Theses and Dissertations
  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations
  • PhdData.Org
  • Proquest (PQDT) Open Access
  • Theological Research Network (TREN)
  • Research in Ministry (RIM)
  • Theses Canada
Revised: Nov 9th 2017