Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: EDIT 682 Web Tools for Education

Table of Contents

Course Description
Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings
Books: Use the Library Catalog
Education Online Databases

Subject Specialist
Librarian's List

Course Description

The use of Internet technologies to facilitate the educational process. Topics covered include fundamentals of design for the World Wide Web, graphic standards, website hosting, and educational use of Internet technology. Students will gain basic skills in developing a simple website. Students will explore and evaluate various web technology tools for education, and discuss trends and issues in web-based education. Students will complete a website development project, and design, produce, and evaluate web-based educational materials.

Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings

Educational Technology
Blended Learning
Internet in Higher Education
Computer - Assisted Instruction

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog

Education Online Databases

Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than13,200 publications

JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.