Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: EDTE 521 Writing Across the Curriculum

Table of Contents

Course Description
Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings
Books: Use the Library Catalog
Education Online Databases

Subject Specialist
Librarian's List

Course Description

A course designed to develop English writing skills, and to prepare teachers to develop similar skills in their own students as they teach their own content subjects. Includes structure and organization, grammar and punctuation, and thinking and reasoning skills, as well as creative ways of integrating writing into every subject as a means of learning.

Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings

Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on Writing Across the Curriculum.

English Language - Composition and Exercises
English Language - Grammar - Problems, Exercises, etc
Academic Writing - Problems, Exercises, etc.

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog

Education Online Databases

Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than13,200 publications

JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.