Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: EDFN 520 Philosophy of Adventist Education

Table of Contents

Course Description
Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings
Books: Use the Library Catalog
Education Online Databases

Librarian's List
Video Tutorials
Subject Specialist

Course Description

A comprehensive in-depth study of the underlying philosophy of Adventist education, emphasizing the complementary functions of the church and the school in the education-redemption process. In the context of the great controversy between good and evil, the course explores such topics as the nature of the student; the nurturance of faith, practical godliness, and personal piety.

Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings

Educational Foundations - Philosophy of Adventist Education
Seventh-day Adventists - Education
Christian Education
Education - Philosophy
Education - Foundations of Christian Education

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog

Education Online Databases

Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than13,200 publications

JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.