Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: EDCI 625 Instructional Media

Table of Contents

Course Description
Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings
Books: Use the Library Catalog
Education Online Databases

Librarian's List
Video Tutorials
Subject Specialist

Course Description

Philosophical, technical, ethical, and practical issues in using technology in the classroom. This course emphasizes both developing technical skills in technological areas appropriate to education, as well as exploring the educational advantages and disadvantages of using technology. Topics indlue the selection, production, utilization and evaluation of audio, graphic and eletronic educational materials.

Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings

Computer-assisted Instruction
Computer Managed Instruction
Computers - Study and Teaching
Educational Technology

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog

Education Online Databases

Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than13,200 publications

JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.