The study of leadership and its dynamics as it applies to the administration of elementary and secondary schools, highlighting planning and implementing change for school improvement. The course explores the principal's role in providing moral, relational, instructional and administrative leadership within the context of a school's culture and potential resources.

Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on Principalship and School Improvement.

School Principals
School Administrators
School Management and Organization

 

• Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and  more than13,200 publications

• JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

• Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

• Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

• Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

• Index to Christ in the Classroom - compilation of articles on Faith and Learning in the Classroom by SDA educators from around the world.

These are available at Academic Search Complete. Log-in using your AIIAS username & password to access these journals.

Administrative Issues Journal: Education, Practice & Research
Bibliographic Records:12/01/2011 To Present
Full Text:02/01/2011 To Present

International Studies In Educational Administration
Bibliographic Records:09/01/2001 To Present
Full Text:09/01/2001 To Present

Management In Education (Education Publishing Worldwide Ltd)
Bibliographic Records:09/01/2001 To Present
Full Text:09/01/2001 To 11/01/2006

Education
Bibliographic Records:01/01/1985 To Present
Full Text:09/01/1969 To Present

• Coach it further : using the art of coaching to improve school leadership
• School leadership & administration : important concepts, case studies & simulations
• 7 mindshifts for school leaders : finding new ways to think about old problems
• The Principal 2.0 : three keys to maximizing impact
• Quality and equity in education : revisiting theory and research on educational effectiveness and improvement
• Exploring principal development and teacher outcomes : how principals can strengthen instruction, teacher retention, and student achievement
• What great principals do differently : twenty things that matter most
• The Assistant principal identity : protecting your leadership mindset, fervor, and authenticity
• What if I'm wrong? : and other key questions for decisive school leadership
• A School without sanctions : a new approach to behaviour management
• School design matters : how school environments relate to the practice and experience of teaching and learning
• Implementing educational reform : cases and challenges 

How to Use Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC)

• How to Search the Online Catalog
• How to Renew Books Online
• How to Place Hold Online
• How to Find Academic Reserves
• How to Create and Save List

How to Access Ebooks

• EBSCO Ebooks
• ProQuest Ebook Central
• Amazon Kindle

• AIIAS Online Repository

How to Use Online Databases

• EBSCO Databases
• Proquest Databases
• JSTOR Database
• Religion Compass

Finding Resources

• How to Find Theses and Dissertations
• How to Find Journal Articles
• How to Find E-books