Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: EDFN 518 Educational Psychology

Table of Contents

Course Description
Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings
Books: Use the Library Catalog
Education Online Databases
Journal Subscription

Video Tutorials
Subject Specialist

Course Description

An introduction to psychological theories in education. Topics include learning theories and the nature of learning, including Christian goals of learning and learning as development. It also examines student diversity, barriers to learning and Christian approaches to improving learning through effective classroom management, motivation, and instructional activities.

Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings

Educational Psychology
Psychology of Learning

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog

Education Online Databases

Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than13,200 publications

JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Index to Christ in the Classroom - compilation of articles on Faith and Learning in the Classroom by SDA educators from around the world.

Journal Subscription

Online Journals
Elementary School Journal
Journal of Adventist Education
Journal of Research on Christian Education
Modern Language Journal
TESOL Journal
TESOL Quarterly

Print Journals - Available at Periodicals Section
Harvard Educational Review
Review of Educational Research
Studies in Second Language Acquisition

Librarian's List