An introduction to concepts of phonetics and phonology for language teachers. Techniques for teaching pronunciation and assisting learners in gaining fluency and grammatical accuracy in real-time oral language production; developing general and specific listening skills; selection of instructional materials; testing; and individual, group, and laboratory techniques for oral skills development are included.

Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on TESOL Methods in Speaking and Listening 
Listening
Oral Communication
English language -- Diction
English language -- Phonetics
English language -- Pronunciation

 

• Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and  more than13,200 publications

• JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

• Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

• Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

• Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

• Index to Christ in the Classroom - compilation of articles on Faith and Learning in the Classroom by SDA educators from around the world.

Online Journals
Elementary School Journal
Journal of Adventist Education
Journal of Research on Christian Education
Modern Language Journal
TESOL Journal
TESOL Quarterly

Print Journals - Available at Periodicals Section
Harvard Educational Review
Review of Educational Research
Studies in Second Language Acquisition

Loading ...

How to Use Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC)

• How to Search the Online Catalog
• How to Renew Books Online
• How to Place Hold Online
• How to Find Academic Reserves
• How to Create and Save List

How to Access Ebooks

• EBSCO Ebooks
• ProQuest Ebook Central
• Amazon Kindle

How to Use Online Databases

• EBSCO Databases
• Proquest Databases

Other Databases

• How to Search JSTOR
• How to Search Religion Compass

Finding Resources

• How to Find Theses and Dissertations
• How to Find Journal Articles
• How to Find E-books