Leslie Hardinge Library Guides: EDTE 622 TESOL Methods for Content-Area Reading and Writing

Table of Contents

Course Description
Books: Use the Library Catalog
Education Online Databases

Course Description

A study of the role of content courses in the development of reading and writing, grammar, vocabulary, and thinking skills. Emphasis is placed on the integration of writing and study skills in order to enhance retention in all content areas. The course includes a survey of appropriate teaching aids suitable for all learners, incorporating critical evaluation of numerical data, technology, and media literacy, including underlying issues such as bias, power, and culture. Experiences in the class include observation and teaching practice at various ages and levels of language ability

Suggested Search Terms and Subject Headings

Use the following search terms and subject headings to find resources on TESOL Methods for Content-Area Reading and Writing

Reading
Guided Reading
Reading Comprehension

Leslie Hardinge Library Catalog

Education Online Databases

Academic Search Complete - comprehensive scholarly and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than13,200 publications

JSTOR Journal Archives - complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journal, starting with the very first issues, some dating back as the 1600.

Proquest Thesis & Dissertations - single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Directory of Open Access Journals - provides access to over 6,000 open access journals and full-text access to most of them. This database includes 76 journals in religion, 189 journals in business and management and 158 journals in public health.

Google Scholar - provides search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.